Skip to content

Land Acknowledgement

The Toronto Public Art Strategy (2020–2030) is built on the understanding and recognition that the City of Toronto is situated on the traditional territory of many nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee, and the Wendat peoples, and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. Toronto is covered by Treaty 13 signed with the Mississaugas of the Credit, and the Williams Treaty signed with multiple Mississaugas and Chippewa bands.

Recognizing the symbolic significance of public art, the City, through this new strategy, commits to embedding truth and reconciliation as foundational principles for public art.  Learn more about ArtworxTO's commitment to Indigenous Arts in Toronto.